apple cinnamon crockpot oatmeal

apple cinnamon crockpot oatmeal

inspired by pinterest

IMG_4380

1 large red apple, cubed

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

pinch of salt

2 cups steel cup oats

2 cups milk

2 cups water

optional toppings – dired fruit, sprinkle of sugar, etc

place apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in bottom of crockpot and mix together.  pour oats, milk and water over top and DO NOT stir.  cook on low in crock pot over night (9-10 hours).  I crushed dried bananas to top my oatmeal along with a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon! easy and tasty breakfast!

IMG_4370

IMG_4373IMG_4374

IMG_4375

8 comments

  1. Wow this looks awesome! I didn’t even think about cooking oatmeal in a crock pot! How cool is that! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

  2. What kind of oatmeal is that? I know the recipe says steel cut, but it looks a bit different than the steel cut I get around here. Just curious. Also, does it reheat well? There are only 2 of us in my house, but I’d love to do this for a few breakfasts this week!

    • I bought the Simple Truth Steel Cut Oats from Kroger. They worked great! I tried to reheat this morning and the flavor was still there but it was a little watery so I am going to have to perfect that! Thanks for asking and I will definitely update the post with ways to reheat effectively!

  3. Abbi

    Never thought to do oatmeal in the crock pot. Think I need to try that out!

  4. Bet that smelled delicious to wake up to. Thanks! In going to try it and maybe lost in shine protein powder and flax. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. Taylor

    What size crockpot?

Leave a comment